Did any changes in relationships surprise you after surgery?

KevinBacon
on 1/14/14 2:26 am, edited 1/14/14 2:27 am
VSG on 03/10/14

I am interested to hear what kinds of changes or challenges you had regarding your relationships with people after your weight loss surgery. Co-workers, friends, spouses, children, extended family members etc. what was your transition like? 

HW: 318 Date of Surgery: 3/10/14 SW: 270  CW: 154

poet_kelly
on 1/14/14 2:28 am - OH

None of my relationships changed due to my surgery.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Amy R.
on 1/14/14 2:54 am

First,  I have to hand it to you - you are really asking some great, in-depth questions.  I think it's gonna make it so much easier for you in the long run to have all of these answers.  Not because your experience will be exactly like any of ours, but because you'll know the range of experiences and have learned what to expect. So good for you=)

The only "relationships" that changed for me were with strangers.  I am  no longer treated as a pariah or as invisible because of my weight.

amy