Pre-OP Q's

Amber Anderson
on 2/16/14 4:01 am - Loveland, CO

Hi,

my name is Amber and I am in the process of getting the Gastric Bypass.

I've Tried personal trainers, fitness programs, nutritionists for the last 7 years and it just hasn't worked. I come from a heavy family and have had 3 people in my family have it successful. Including my mom. This decision wasn't made lightly. I've been researching and learning about it and other options for the last 3 years, in January my doctor and I made the decision to go through with it. My struggles aren't without knowledge. A Big Mac has 540 calories, I need to maintain a 1200 caloric intake just to maintain the weight I have now. This is just what I've learned from all the people, trainers, coaches, and doctors I've talked to. I'm in support groups, I count my steps every day, I swim, and I eat. I've tried doctor regulated weight loss programs, I've done p90x, I've done xfit, I've had beach body coaches. Nothing has worked. I've done so much research I could Probably perform the surgery myself.

I am in Colorado and I currently have Medicaid. My Doctor has approved the surgery and is 100% on board.

I do not have any medical problems other than anxiety and depression.

My BP is great, sugars are always perfect, but morbidly obese. I am 5 foot 7 inches and weigh in at a hefty 318 pounds.

Being on medicaid it requires me to take a 6 month course before the surgery.

My first class is on Feb 27th, then on the 27th of the next 5 months. Anyone gone through this? I would like to know your experiences with the month prior to your surgery; did insurance hold up, did you follow the liquid diet, what types of protein powders do you recommend, anything to help make the time go by faster?

mollz007
on 2/16/14 9:50 am
VSG on 02/20/14