dizzy/lightheaded - any ideas?

Tins
on 2/23/14 7:47 am

I'm almost 3 months post surgery (bypass) and have been feeling lightheaded/dizzy for the past few days. Woke up early this morning and it felt like I had the spins. I'm trying to increase my fluid intake which is admittedly too low - any other ideas about what might be causing this? 

poet_kelly
on 2/23/14 9:55 am - OH

Probably low blood pressure, possibly low blood sugar.  If you're not getting enough fluids, I'd start by increasing your fluid intake and see if that helps.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

madetaca
on 2/23/14 10:40 am - Canada
RNY on 01/07/14

I've been having the same issue.  Since I was diabetic pre-op (no longer, yay!), the first thing I thought was that my sugars were low, but kept checking and they were ok.  Went to the doc and it was my blood pressure.  Even at my heaviest, my blood pressure was normal, so now, with the huge weight loss, it's low.  You can confirm this by checking your pressure.  If it's low, you can make sure not only that increase your fluid intake, but also to increase your sodium levels.  Your body will adjust in time, but in the meantime, try not to drive, go slowly when going from lying down or sitting to standing up, and watch your step when there are stairs.

Scribbler
on 2/23/14 10:50 am

Thank you. This helps. I'll make sure I get lots of fluids - I have blacked out 3 times, fallen hard once, and nearly blacked out more than that! I'm hitting goal, but maybe I need to hit goal earlier in the day.

My BP check was 2 days ago and it was smack dab in the middle of normal range, so it's not too low or unhealthy.