Empty support

sjluvsu44
on 2/23/14 5:20 pm - Grand Rapids, MI
DS on 03/06/14

I am new to WLS and I am scheduled for surgery a week from tomorrow (March 4th 2014). I was wondering how you managed to keep your sanity during the two weeks prior and how  you concurred your nerves. Being only 22 I have shared my new chapter that I will be starting with some of my close friends. They keep saying how supportive they are, yet tonight during game night (at my own apartment) they ordered pizza and brought over alcohol. I normally am a level headed person, but I freaked out and ended up throwing their pizza, alcohol, and them out. I was wondering if it is ALWAYS going to be this hard and challenging and constantly having the feeling that you are in this alone. It is hard enough being on the products these two weeks, but I'm more nervous than hungry. I have read a couple other posts and have seen that the nerves are normal, but not so much how to over come them. My heart is in this surgery 100%, but I'm constantly fighting with my brain on it. 

Does it ever mentally get easier? 

(deactivated member)
on 2/24/14 12:18 am
elisenacole_1rules
on 2/24/14 12:44 am

I just had surgery the 19th,last Wednesday, and all I can say is that for me, I would have told them no before the pizza and alcohol arrived. its your journey, not theirs, and they will have struggles that they may tell you about in life as well, but you wont truly ever be IN THEIR SHOES, and all you can do is your best to listen and offer advice if its wanted. that being said, I wasn't nervous until the day before surgery, and im not sure why I was nervous even then. everything went fine, and ive already lost 18 pounds since Thursday! its crazy! last night my fiancé was having dinner in another room and the sound of the fork scraping the plate kinda aggravated me! we are human, but I think the positives will far outweigh any negatives you are feeling. :-) i'll bet you'll do fine!

elise

(deactivated member)