Vitamins

ConfidenceIsKey
on 7/21/14 6:10 am

I'm having the Sleeve done on the 31st and  I'm trying to get my vitamins in check. What vitamins did you find out worked best for you? 

What vitams are best for after surgery?

poet_kelly
on 7/21/14 6:51 am - OH

The American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery says  VSG folks should take an adult multivitamin that has 100% of the RDA of most nutrients and includes minerals like copper, zinc and selenium and 1500 mg of calcium citrate (broken into three doses of 500 mg, taken at least two hours apart).  Other vitamins, like iron, B12 and D3, would depend on your labs.

I use a generic multi and generic calcium citrate.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

fitz
on 7/21/14 9:46 am
VSG on 07/08/14

I just had the vertical sleeve done on 7-8-14. My doctors office recommended the vitamins they carry in the office which are chewable and designed for bariatric patients. Best of luck on your journey. My only regret is that I didn't do it sooner.

Valerie G.
on 7/21/14 9:39 am - Northwest Mountains, GA

You'll have all working parts with the sleeve with no malabsorption, so a standard multi vitamin should be all you need.  Don't waste your money on designer bariatric vitamins.  A Centrum (or equivalent) multi and some extra calcium should do the trick for you.

Valerie
DS 2005

There is room on this earth for all of God's creatures..
next to the mashed potatoes

Cheryl H.
on 7/21/14 2:19 pm - Crowley , TX
VSG on 07/24/14