How to start the process

cc2129
on 8/18/14 7:26 am

Hello out there. I have recently decided to get the lap band surgery. I have done tons of research on the surgery itself but am not sure how to get the process started of getting approved through insurance. I have BCBS .The closest bariatric surgeon available to me in almost 5 hours away so I would really like to know if I can get approved through my primary care doctor before I start making trips so far away from home only to be denied. Any help or advice would be helpful. 

Thank you and good luck to you all on your own journeys. :)

poet_kelly
on 8/18/14 8:36 am - OH

Call your insurance company and ask what they require for approval.

Also, if you are sure you want the lap band, make sure the surgeon five hours away does them.  Many surgeons no longer do them due to the high rate of complications requiring removal of the band.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

MsBatt
on 8/18/14 9:06 am

I can not, in good conscience, recommend the LapBand to anyone. I certainly can't recommend it to someone who will have to travel five hours from home every time she needed a fill or an unfill. Please, PLEASE, re-think this.

You say you've done tons of research on the surgery itself. Have you also done tons of research on the other forms of WLS? (VSG/Sleeve, RNY/gastric bypass, and DS/duodenal switch.)

As far as getting started with your insurance company---CALL THEM. Have your insurance card in hand, and make sure they check exactly what your policy covers, what the requirements are, if you need a referral from your PCP, if they require a pre-op, doctor-supervised diet, etc.

Lmo2291
on 8/18/14 9:51 am