WLS scheduled, Excited to start my new life!

M_Nelson5
on 8/21/14 9:16 am

Hi everyone!

I'm new to ObesityHelp.com and I'd love to find some friends on here to help me along my journey I'm about to undergo....my surgery is scheduled for late October and I'm excited and scared all at the same time! I'm on a pre-op diet right now to lose as much as I can before the surgery, but I don't think ill see much results with it. 

quick background...i've pretty much been overweight my entire life and just developed really bad habits growing up. All of my family is overweight and never really placed an emphasis on eating right or exercising. Even though I played sports growing up (football) i was never "healthy" and always was much bigger than all the other guys. Once I stopped working out for football when I got out of high school everything went downhill from there. So now I'm late 20's which is when I should be enjoying being young when really I'm just extremely self conscious and kinda depressed and I need to get my life on track so I can start LIVING!

I'd love to know any tips people can give me. Ill share my journey also so that anyone else thinking about doing weight loss surgery can use my experience as information!

- Matt

Jiliana2
on 8/21/14 10:37 pm - Ottawa, Canada
VSG on 02/03/14

Congrats on having a surgery date and on getting control of your life at such a great age to maximize the benefits!

Like you, I've been overweight all of my life and it's only now that this type of thing is available to me. I had surgery in February at age 43... oh if only I could have had it at 23 or 33 instead! But better late than never!

I wish you lots of luck on your pre-op diet. You never know; you might see some great results between now and October. Give it a whirl.