Unsure

HeatherHoy
on 9/19/14 4:14 am - Crestwood, MO

This is my first post on here and in reality this is my first time coming out as admitting that I am obese. I'm 5'8" and weigh over 300lbs. My father's side of the family is on the larger size (bone structure and in weight) and there are a few members of my mother's side that are on the larger side (because of weight). On both sides of my family there is history of diabetes, heart failure, thyroid issues, breast cancer, acid reflux, heart disease and the list goes on and on and literally on.

Did I mention that I am only 27?

I'm seeking advice, help, encouragement...something. I don't know what to do. Over the course of my life I have dieted, had personal trainers, ate only 1000 calories a day, starved myself...even resorting to bulimia or anorexia. I tried sleeping all of the time. Soup only. Liquids only. Nothing helps. I'll lose 30-50lbs and as soon as I ease myself off whatever extreme thing I am on, the weight comes back.

I can't stand myself anymore. I am a hairstylist. I am supposed to care about my appearance and I don't.

I also got news that I am pre diabetic. My numbers from my blood work never look amazing but they are starting to look worse. I don't want to die when I am 40.

So I need advice, even if it is harsh. Does bypass surgery change your life around? Is there something I am missing?

Missourimedic
on 9/19/14 4:46 am
VSG on 10/06/14 with