Diabetic glucose test

lisa48
on 10/24/14 1:47 am - Cornwall, Canada
RNY on 12/16/08 with

Hi there I`m 5 yrs out and my Dr. wants me to go have the 73grm glucose test , I know i`m diabetic again but terrified to have this test done ..with drinking all that sugar I`m scared I`m going to be very sick afterwards. Has anyone here had to do this test after the surgery and were you sick afterwards. My gut feeling is telling me not to do it but just wondered if it is safe for us to do or not ..thank you

poet_kelly
on 10/24/14 2:47 am - OH

I wouldn't do it.  It would make me very ill to drink that much sugar.  Why does he want you to do it?  Can't diabetes be diagnosed without doing that?  Can't you just check your blood sugar before and after meals?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

lisa48
on 10/24/14 3:31 am - Cornwall, Canada
RNY on 12/16/08 with

I did one of the regular blood test and it came up a bit high so she wanted me to do this one to make sure ..

I see her Thursday and I`ve been putting it off for 3mths cause I`m scared of the reaction I will get. I`ve been taking my blood at home and I know now for sure I`m diabetic so will just show her my # but just wanted to know for sure if anyone else had to do this test and if they got sick over it like I`m sure I will be , so I can also tell her its not all in my head ..lol.thanks for your quick respond !!!!

Bubbles314
on 10/24/14 4:55 am - Kalamazoo, MI
RNY on 10/06/14

Is the A1C test accurate?

poet_kelly
on 10/24/14 5:20 am - OH

Did you discuss your concerns with your doctor?