Can't wait to start this new journey!

arielgail21
on 11/25/14 3:38 am

I am 23 years old and 140 lbs overweight. I am having gastric bypass surgery on December 3rd and could not be more excited! However, my husband is very against me having this surgery because he thinks there are healthier ways to go about this. How do I get him to see that this is what I think is best for me? Any tips about this surgery and new journey I am on would be greatly appreciated as I am new to all of this.

melody S.
on 11/25/14 4:12 am - Morgantown, WV

Has your husband read anything about the surgery? Perhaps if he were to sit down and read up on the surgery and the reasons people have it, he might be more open minded about it. The truth is, for the vast majority of people, diets just don't work long term. Yes, you can lose the weight, but eventually, it all comes back, plus some. It's not a matter of having the willpower to lose the weight. It's that your body wants to keep hold of that weight. That's why we have surgery. It gives us a tool with which we can have a much greater chance of keeping off the weight. It's not the easy way out, it's still just as hard, but it has the greater chance of working. Most normal people wouldn't consider major surgery if losing and keeping off weight were just a matter of willpower.

He may also feel that if you lose weight, other men will find you attractive and you will find someone else. It's a common fear, and all you really can do is to reassure him that you love him, and have no desire to be with anyone else.

Good luck!

arielgail21
on 11/25/14 4:17 am