Contemplating Surgery

BKCJR06
on 4/24/15 1:06 am - Woodbridge, VA

Good Morning,

My name is Brian C. I am interested in having a form of weight loss surgery, but haven't decided which is the best option. I have tried about every diet you can think of and I have tried exercising but nothing seems to work. I am looking for opinions as to which surgery would be the best option. I really feel like I have exhausted all options because i typically lose the weight but then it comes right back again. I've gained about 150 lbs in the last 2 years. I have an aunt that recently tried the lap band surgery & she had wonderful success & another person that had the gastric bypass. Can anyone kind of give me the run down on what my options could be if i do decide to have surgery?

Thanks,

Brian C.

NorthernHusky
on 4/24/15 1:24 am

it always depends on your lifestyle and personal choice, how much you have to lose, etc. now I am not a doctor, but when I was contemplating either the sleeve or the gastric bypass, they laid it out.

the sleevers seem to have bad heart burn after, I already had bad heart burn so I didn't want that.

both options make u take vitamins forever.

my surgeon said that whenever people are "teetering" between two, he always advises the bypass. in his opinion, its more sustainable weightloss.

that's all I can say, good luck!

Gastric Bypass June 16th 2014

Highest weight: 356
Surgery weight: 347
Current Weight: 224
Goal Weight: 180

Mary Gee
on 4/24/15 1:33 am, edited 4/24/15 1:33 am - AZ
VSG on 05/14/14

Two suggestions:  1)  Go to an WLS Orientation Meeting - they will discuss the options, requirements., etc.; 2) Read, read, read, and then read some more.  (Click on Resources at the top of the page, then Weight Loss Surgery, then read the boards.