36 hours til surgery

swim_bike_smile
on 6/11/16 9:15 pm
RNY on 06/13/16

The countdown begins-- my  surgery is Monday morning.  What are some things you did/purchased before surgery to prepare yourself for coming home from the hospital?  Any particular foods or comfort items that you had that were helpful?

Also, confession time-- I'm having buyer's remorse and I didn't even have the surgery yet.  I'm pretty nervous that I am going to wind up with complications or other health problems as a result of the surgery.  I keep having dreams that I die in surgery and I'm watching my husband plan my funeral.  I woke up to a wet pillow because somehow I was crying in my sleep.

kathkeb
on 6/11/16 9:30 pm

I made 3 lists (I am a project manager, what can I say?)

List 1 ---- 25 things to do besides eat, if it is not mealtime.  I made a vow to consult that list and do something or more than 1 thing when I was tempted to eat outside of my new feeding schedule.

List 2 --- 25 reasons I was having surgery .... I dug deep, some were superficial, some were very deep and personal ... It resolved my decision

List 3 ---- 25 ways I will know I am being successful besides the numbers on the scale.  Scales lie and they are but 1 indicator of success

I also stocked up on baby spoons to eat yogurt, puddings, jello with (when I got to soft food).  I got some sugar-free Popsicles, some lip balm, some anti-gas strips that dissolve on the tongue.

I made sure my heating pad was working.

i had out-patient surgery, so did not have to pack for an overnight stay ..... Just loose, baggy clothes, lip balm, socks and slip on shoes

A pillow to hug close to my body on the ride home was helpful.

Best of luck!!!

Kath

Sharon SW-267
GW-165 CW-167 S.

on 6/12/16 5:59 am - PA
RNY on 12/22/14