Any 20-30 year-olds?

xray-girl
on 3/24/17 4:19 pm

Hello all!

I am new to this site and I was wondering if there are any other "younger" people here too.

I'm a 20 year-old student and I've just started thinking about weight loss surgery as every attempt at weight loss that I've tried has failed and I am getting very discouraged...

* Nicole *
on 3/25/17 12:05 pm

Well I just turned 34 but I had surgery at 22.5 years old so nearing 12 years ago. I regret nothing. Best thing I ever did.

DS Aug 15th,2005 @ goal, living life and loving it.

"An Arabian will take care of its owner as no other horse will, for it has not only been raised to physical perfection, but has been instilled with a spirit of loyalty unparalleled by that of any other breed."

Beam me up Scottie
on 3/25/17 7:44 pm
Surgery should be your last resort. (Really...i do mean that...WLS is serious).

If you are going to have a surgery that has malabsorbtion- DS or RNY, make sure that you are financially stable. The monthly vitamin/protein cost can be pretty high. I spend about 80 on vits (probably a bit less) ...and at least another 50 or 60 dollars on protein bars (I get all my protein from food now...I just like the way Atkins bars taste, but the first year, I really needed them (or shakes) to get in enough protein).

Finally you need to be mature. A 20 year old can be very mature.....or not. But WLS is a LIFETIME commitment. Any surgery will require a lifetime of bloodwork, suppliments, and commitment ot eating a certain way.

With all that said, I am glad I had WLS. I wish I had it earlier-if I was in my 20s I would have had the VSG. I do not think it would have been enough to help me keep the weight off forever, but it would have been a start.

Scott
* Nicole *
on 3/26/17 4:04 am

I do agree that one needs stability in life. I would advise against it if quality food and vites would be financially tough.