Telling my mom

Lyds85
on 5/9/17 7:25 pm
RNY on 02/20/18

So i am just beginning this 6 month process to get gastric bypass and so far only my husband knows. We share a home with my mother and it is coming up to where I need to tell her so she can help drive me to appts (im visually impaired and dont drive). Im afraid to tell her because she is also on the heavier side and is very adimently against it. I know she will make remarks and it will be an awkward conversation. I do think she will still ultimatetly help me and support me, but im so anxious about this. Just today she made a comment about how wls makes people look sick and discusting and its total BS. The thing is Im 250lbs overweight and i have some health issues to deal with and she is about 70lbs overweight with good health. She doesnt relate to me and I dont know how to approach this without it being an argument...

jenorama
on 5/9/17 7:48 pm - CA
RNY on 10/07/13

Hm, that's a tough situation. Years and years ago, my aunt had RNY and my mom was dismissive of it, so when I made my own decision to pursue RNY in 2013, I was expecting much the same from her, but she really surprised me and was very supportive. She stayed with me and my husband for the day of surgery and for the first week of my recovery and I was very glad that she did.

Do you have to tell her right away what the appointments are for? Since you are looking at a 6 month process, you might have time to kind of feel her out and get her used to the idea slowly. My husband was not enthusiastic about it at first, but he went with me to one of the program's orientations and then to the consultation with the surgeon and he came around. Maybe your mom can do the same? Some people tend to not believe information unless they can find it out or verify it for themselves.