Who do you tell and what do you say?

thegarv
on 7/19/17 11:18 am

I'm sure this is somewhere on this board, so I apologize. I've told my immediate family about my upcoming surgery and have told 4 close friends. Anyone else are people I only see maybe 3 or 4 times a year. However, I am also a teacher, so I have colleagues and students around me.

Who did you tell about the surgery before? After? I don't know if I will get questions as I lose weight, or if it will just be "Have you lost weight?", to which I can say "yep." Do people ask how you did it? What do you tell them?

Dcgirl
on 7/19/17 11:21 am - DC
RNY on 12/16/13

Responses will definitely vary! Some people choose to keep it a secret. I figured, losing 150 lbs in a year would be pretty noticeable and likely hard to pretend I did it through diet and exercise :) I found the right answer for me. If people asked why I was going to be out for a week, or especially after as people would say "omg look at you!" I would just say (and this is all truthful), "Yeah, ya know I haven't had health problems yet but I really want to keep it that way so I decided to have a procedure and eat high protein and low carb and really commit to exercise". And no one judged me (to my face) or made comments about their cousin's neighbor's daughter who gained it all back...everyone was supportive and wanted me to be healthy too. I have even had two morbidly obese people have surgery after seeing my results. So that is what worked for me :)

Andiemarie30
on 7/19/17 2:01 pm
VSG on 03/21/17