The dreaded last meal lunacy.

Melody P.
on 10/26/17 6:42 pm - Amarillo, TX

I see the cardiologist tuesday for the final all clear for surgery. My doctor told me after the EGD that the surgery would be before Christmas.

I have to admit I fell victim to my own mind today. My most favorite food in the world is thai. I have had a lot of people...mostly family...telling me I wouldn't be able to eat this or that. I swore I wouldn't do this and I ended up falling hard. I had seafood pad thai. There I said it.

I am being accountable. I am also doing one thing I usually don't do as easily. FORGIVING myself! That's a big one for me! I don't feel guilty but I learned from this. My family and friends are concerned about eating stuff in front of me. Mostly Christmas foods. I'm a baker and candy maker...i've told them I will not be making fudge this year or cookies. My mom wants to cancel Christmas meals over me having to eat the way I will be. I finally talked with my mom this afternoon after the guilt of thai food was over. I told her I do NOT expect her to change her eating or to hide her eating. I didn't realize how much it was stressing her out. It was so good to have that talk. I don't know how my tastes and craving will change after surgery. Things are going to change and she doesn't fear it now as much. It was a real growing experience for us.

I also decided to stop the crud with the word dieting. It sets up a recipe for feeling deprived. I have pretty much stopped the night time grazing. I am rather proud of myself for that one.

So today while I had a misstep I also had a great day with family growth. I have actions and new ways to convey my feelings.

Beam me up Scottie
on 10/26/17 7:07 pm
You'll be able to eat again after surgery. So I wouldn't get so wrapped up in the "last meal" thought process.

Scott
Caff
on 10/26/17 8:03 pm, edited 10/26/17 1:03 pm

The night before my pre-op diet I ate an entire loaf of cheesey garlic bread.