What to do if you suspect you have an eating disorder.

Donna L.
on 6/14/18 9:00 am, edited 6/14/18 9:17 am - Chicago, IL
Revision on 02/19/18

Before I get started, if you have an eating disorder and need support call the NEDA ED Helpline at (800) 931-2237.

Soooo, also before I get started (redux): hi. I'm Donna. I have binge eating disorder and used to weigh as much as a baby whale that just ate a small compact car. I am also a clinical therapist. I notice that many of us struggle with disordered eating (well duh) or outright have an eating disorder - or we might not know! Here is a rudimentary post with some suggestions, thoughts, and ideas which are hopefully helpful.

We'll leave disordered eating on the bookshelf for a moment, because that's a whole other circus full of monkeys. As for eating disorders, if you think you may have one, you wouldn't be alone if you did, certainly, as it's estimated around 30 million people in the US alone regardless of gender meet the criteria for diagnosis. Men and women are both underdiagnosed usually, however men are vastly so.

Eating disorders are vastly misunderstood, underdiagnosed, and also stigmatizing. Anorexia, an eating disorder, also has the highest death rate out of all mental illnesses. And yep, you can develop it post-WLS even if still overweight or obese. BED can also cause severe complications, too, that we don't often discuss, including malnutrition and vitamin deficiencies.

At any rate, there are a couple of avenues of approach. Finding a psychiatrist to work with is daunting normally, and even more so when it comes to EDs. Finding a counselor can also be hard. Here is a brief list of stuff to consider doing:

1. When in doubt, start with your PCP. They may also not know WTF to do, but they may be able to help if you also are experiencing anxiety or depression (exceptionally common).