Pre-surgery lifestyle changes

jessiegirl84
on 7/15/18 4:01 pm

Hi. Newbie here. I've been working through the pre-surgery requirements of my clinic - regularly meeting with the dietician, health checks, and psych eval (that's up next). It's involved a lot of learning and being willing to make changes so far - which leads me to my question.

What changes that you made before surgery were the most helpful in being successful after surgery? Or is there something you wish you would've done differently to make post-surgery an easier transition?

Thanks! All the information here has been great.

NYMom222
on 7/15/18 6:58 pm
RNY on 07/23/14

I don't know if this is the answer you are looking for... but the most important change presurgery was mindset. I made a decision that if I was going to do this crazy thing I was making it my job. That meant following the rules.

I don't know if you can ever be totally prepared for post-surgery. You just have to walk through the process one step at a time.

Cynthia 5'11" RNY 7/23/2014

Goal reached 17 months. 220lb Weight Loss
Plastic Surgery Dr. Joseph Michaels - LBL and Hernia Repair 2/29/16, Arm Lift, BL, 5/2/16, Leg Lift 7/25/16

#lifeisanadventure #fightthegoodfight #noregrets

Save

Save

jessiegirl84
on 7/15/18 7:10 pm

That's a perfect answer. I totally get treating it as if it were a job. I wouldn't slack off in my work - why would I slack off with my health (that's why I started this process in the first place).

I'm pretty much a rule follower to begin with and I've been slowly trying to make the changes like no drinking with or immediately after a meal, tracking what I'm eating, and portion sizing ahead of time to get in the habit and hold myself accountable for what I do.

Gwen M.
on 7/15/18 7:06 pm
VSG on 03/13/14