To have WLS or not to have WLS

sassysissy59
on 5/6/13 11:43 am - MD

Hi, this is my first time posting. I've been researching all aspects of the many different surgeries for weight lost and what is expected after surgery. And if a person is expected to keep in portion control, low fat, sugarfree, eat slow, exercise, exercise, and take vitimins, keep appointments, etc., then why have surgery?  If all this is done on a diet and all expectations are nearly the same, without the surgery you'd have the same results without all the pain and possible side effects of surgery. 

My choice is VSG, thinking the appitite harmone would be cut out along with the stomach portion and restriction aspect to force eating less was exciting me, then I found out the harmone regenerates and the sleeve can be stretched out even from the carbonation of soda put a damper on the idea of surgery.  Then using nsaids is not allowed, I have arthritis and been on nsaids for 15 yrs. I feel I'd be making one problem go away just to incure other problems.

And what would the future hold, I work as a CNA, caregiver, sometimes in a nursing home. If a resident had dementia and became a feeder, how would they cope if a caretaker had to feed him and the food menu wasn't friendly. There isn't alot of time to spend on one feeder since you may have 9 to 16 residents to look after.

Am I thinking too much?  How did you decide to use surgery for weight lost?

Cwuddy
on 5/11/13 11:06 am - Ontario, Canada
VSG on 08/28/12
I had a very high BMI (57) and relied on Celebrex and/ or Arthrotec daily for the arthritis in my left knee...could barely walk...after 8 months and 122 lbs down I am feeling amazing and I've only had to take TWO Arthrotec since my surgery and that was b/c I overdid it on exercise nd my knee swelled.