Pain in Lower back and Swelling of ankles and feet

enochsbiggestfan
on 7/13/04 11:54 am - Nashville, NC
I am a 27 y/o female, I have lower back pain all of the time, my extremeties sometimes go to sleep, and I have severe swelling in my ankles and feet. I have never had any trouble with high blood pressure, but I am extremely overwieght. I didnt start having the swelling problem until about 3 months ago really noticabely and it has been progressively getting worse. Yesterday and today, it was really bad; so bad that its really painful, and other people are concerned about me too. I have a dr appt on Wed. Does anyone have experience with this, and if so, what do you think it could be? Thanks in advance for your answers and opinions. Marisa G.
Linda D.
on 7/17/04 10:20 am - Newton, NJ
I'm no doctor, but it sort of sounds like a pinched nerve as far as the sleeping extremities go. I've had sciatic pain often, but that was usually pain running down the back of my legs and it seemed like no position was comfortable, especially sitting. I had to get medication for that, naproxen and cyclobenzaprine. Before I had WLS, my ankles and feet swelled quite a bit, but it wasn't painful. My ankles and feet still swell, but not as much, but I am on my feet 8 hours a day. I don't really know what causes it. I know I didn't help you much, but I sympathize with you..I hope you feel better soon! Linda
elaine B.
on 7/17/04 1:01 pm - nashville, TN