Recent Posts

pperkins
on 9/1/04 8:56 am - Gervias, OR
Topic: Hello!
Well, Since no one has posted to this forum yet, I'll be the first. My name is Perry Perkins and I had Lap RNY on May 19, 2004. I'm just past six months out and down 75lbs. I love everything about the outdoors, hunting, camping, and fishing (bait, gear and fly). I'm a writer, and have written articles for many major outdoor magazines. I'm hoping to see more folks posting here, but for now I'll just share one of my favorite stories! (Below) Blessings! -Perry 376/335/260/195 75 Pounds Gone! Perry P. Perkins Christian Novelist Just Past Oysterville: Shoalwater Book One Read chapter one - (www) perryperkinsbooks.com SLOW DAYS By Perry Perkins Obsession, it would seem, can do as much for one's reputation as talent. When a friend approached me to say that her cousin was flying in from Oklahoma the next weekend, loved to fly fish for bass, and needed someone to show him the local scene, I wasn't all that surprised, nervous yes, but not surprised. Here in Oregon we have an amazing variety and selection of water. With several blue-ribbon rivers flowing through the state, the Deschutes, McKenzie, and Metolius just to name three, and some incredibly prolific still waters like Crane Prairie and Chickahominy Reservoirs, it's hard work to find a place that even I can't land a trout or two. For great bass fishing though, the choices can be a bit more limited. I knew that if I wanted these guys to take home some real memories from their trip west, I was going to have to get them into smallies on the John Day River. The John Day River runs more than 500 miles from its headwaters in the mountains of southeast Grant County, west through the sage and juniper landscapes of the city of John Day, and finally north to its confluence with the Columbia River, some 27 miles east of The Dalles. Under the Oregon Scenic Waterways Act, the John Day is classified at "Wild and Scenic" and considered a protected river. Flowing thro