So...I got a date

KFA3
on 12/2/08 2:56 am - Pittsburgh, PA
So, I got my date(12/22/08) for surgery last Wednesday before Thanksgiving. It seems to have finally hit me now that it's going to happen and I'm freaking out and almost second guessing my decision. I have two main issues of contention that are killing me. The first is that I love to eat. ALOT! I love fine dining, dives, ethnic foods, you name it. Food is such a huge part of my life that I feel as though each meal since then I've been mourning a friend whom I know is about to die. My second greatest concern is that I'm a full time student in Pittsburgh and my surgeon is located outside of Philly. I had to do it this way so my health insurance would fully cover the procedure. So, what if something goes wrong, and I'm back at school? What then?

I know the benefits far outweigh the negatives, but how did any of you all overcome concerns that you had prior to going under the knife?
Jus ChanJ N ME
on 12/2/08 3:02 am
mstanyat
on 12/2/08 3:07 am
yes i had fears and doubts. I did the whole process back in 2006 and due to fear i backed out, only to reapeat it again in 2008, because I realized that not doing it was causing harm to my body, But you have to come to grips with you. If you ask what is my opinion i would say Do it, Go for it! but in the end you make the ultimate decision. The issue about school being so far away from your surgeon is a concern, but if something happens and you cant get to him quick, I'm sure theres a Hospital E.R. near. The other issue about loving to eat, I been there i love food too, still think about it everyday, but now i am thinking on a whole new level, you can still eat it just teaches you to eat in moderation and in a healthier way. Best wishes to you and your decision making...

Highest weight 302...Current weight...183
an official member of "The Onederland Club"

Tiffany G.
on 12/2/08 3:31 am
Congrats on your date!
~*Tiffany*~ my DS

# 1 MACK_MAMA
on 12/2/08 3:38 am