dumping syndrome

mstanyat
on 12/2/08 2:18 am
O.K. i know i am a newbie to the post op world, and I am learning alot of things, My daily question for today is this:

Once you are post op how long does the body react to sugar by dumping?
Is it 6months, 1year, how long was it for you before you could tolerate evan  a small amount of your favorite snack, or dessert.

Just curious... I know i have it will be loooooong time before i can have sugar,and the first thing i am going to have is a Twizzler!!!

Highest weight 302...Current weight...183
an official member of "The Onederland Club"

hershey dream
on 12/2/08 2:27 am - Duluth, GA

I will be 3 years post-op come this Friday and I still dump!  As recently as this morning on some Apple0Cranberry Juice, lol.

There are some that have minor dumping sensations, some that dump drastically (like me)  and those that don't dump at all, but one never really knows which they are unless they test the waters.  I truly wish I hadn't, but I do know what things to stay away from.

So, in essence...there really isn't a "time" limit,  just depends on your body.

Life is not about making it through the storm....but learning how to dance in the rain.      
Inspire
on 12/2/08 2:28 am
Each individual is different.  Some people never dump off anything.  Some become gravely ill.  Some fall in the middle like me and I am over 2 1/2 years out from surgery.  I can eat certain sweets, on certain days, only in the rain, if I hold my breath, and blink my right eye twice. 

I'm just saying...there isn't a rhyme or reason.  You will learn which foods will trigger you to dump.

hershey dream
on 12/2/08 2:32 am - Duluth, GA
So true!
Life is not about making it through the storm....but learning how to dance in the rain.      
Inspire
on 12/2/08 2:34 am
Girl, we pretty much had the same response! 
mstanyat
on 12/2/08 2:38 am