MyTime2Change’s Posts

MyTime2Change
on 8/9/16 2:36 pm
Topic: RE: New member

I appreciate the encouraging words! I will look for that page on Facebook today, lol. I'm ready to feel more energized and to stop holding myself back from things. I wish I had made this decision before now, but better late than never!  Thank you so much for the encouragement. 

MyTime2Change
on 8/9/16 2:32 pm

Thank you for your reply! I am ready to make a change, and grateful to learn whatever I can. I will definitely be reaching out. :)

MyTime2Change
on 8/2/16 8:52 am

Hello everyone,

I am new to Obesity Help and wanted to greet everyone. I have reviewed several of your posts and have already found helpful information in them; thank you for sharing your experiences. 

I'm a married mother of five and I have been dealing with my weight for quite some time, but the last 10-15 years have been the most challenging. I have decided after much research and much procrastination to take action to take charge of my health and my life. I have decided to pursue self-pay gastric sleeve surgery in Mexico, and hope to get it done this fall, God willing. 

A lot of what has prevented me from seeking the surgery all these years was denial. I felt that if I just I applied myself I could "do it on my own without surgery." I maintained that state of mind for years, yet nothing changed in my life. I've since realized how much I have been gaslighting myself. There is NO shame in seeking help for this condition. I slowly came to this realization once it began to dawn upon me how much better I was getting as a person by treating my depression and other issues and how I would be concerned if a person with a psychiatric disability/mental illness was determined to "do it on my own." Should we take initiative and be an active part of the process? Yes. But we cannot let a mindset like that reign if it prevents the process from even getting started!

Nothing will change unless we make it change.