LAP BAND at 400 lbs?

Olivia L.
on 1/11/09 2:07 am
 hello! im 18 and i weigh 400lbs, although i am 6 feet tall, so i look like i weigh alot less than i do. 
so my height is why i decided to not get gastric bypass and go for the band. I have yet to be approved so i just wanted to get some feedback from people who have been at my weight with the band. 
Did you have issues eating like you did before the band?
What was the pain like post op?
Were you frustrated that the weight didn't come off as fast as the bypass patients?

Anything you can think of i would appriciate some advice or some answers to my questions!

THANKS! 

p.s. read my blog if you want to see how weird i am haha 
Cheri H.
on 1/11/09 6:33 am - Brampton, Canada
Hi there...

I'm pre op so I'm by no means an expert (or even close to one...haha).  But with BMI's over 50 the lap band I believe will fail in a good lot of cases (meaning failure to lose at least 50% of excess of cases).  That being said I guess it does have some success too - so you could be a lucky one.

Haveyou looked at all ofyour options for surgery - for example the DS?  DS is shown to have the highest % of weight lost for people with BMI's over 50 and the most likeliehood of keeping off the weight.  It is available lap - so it's not too much more invasive - and the post operative life (especially when you're at goal) is much more tolerable than any ofthe other surgeries (ie you can eat much more normally without any guilt). I believe it is harder to get insurance approval but there are a tonne of people on the DS board that can help you with that.

Anyway, just thought I'd say hi!!!! And give some 2 cents.
Cheri                                                                                                              I the DS!

I had the Duodenal Switch!  Do yourself a favour and check out www.dsfacts.com - especially if your BMI is over 50!

HW: 426/SW: 421/CW: 165/ GW: 150           Current BMI is 26.6!         
queenbrandy