Life Insurance Question

InTransition
on 1/26/15 11:29 pm
RNY on 09/08/14

Hey All.  This is my first time posting in this group. 

My BMI prior to surgery was 55, and I have been rejected out of hand for all life insurance I have applied for in the last several years, based on my "height/weight ratio".  I assume they are converting that to BMI for the rejection.

Do any of you have life insurance you pay for yourself (not provided by employer)?  If so, may I ask through which insurer, and did you have to do a physical or anything to get it?

Thanks!

CerealKiller Kat71
on 1/27/15 6:49 am
RNY on 12/31/13

My life insurance is through William Penn. I did have to have a physical but I got it when my BMI was 57.

"What you eat in private, you wear in public." --- Kat

Mary Gee
on 2/1/15 3:25 am - AZ
VSG on 05/14/14
I'm going to apply for insurance soon, and expect to have to get the "you cannot be turned down" policy. No health exam or medical questions - but if you die within two years, the only payment is return of premium paid, plus 10%. I made a big mistake because when I left my old job where I had good coverage, I had the option of continuing with the same coverage, with no exam or questions - but I was in a tough position and could not do it. If you have that option, go for it. Otherwise, you will regret it!

HW: 380 SW: 324 GW: 175  

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 2/22/15 1:22 am - OH

Yes, they are basing it on your BMI, and because of the high mortality rate for the Super Morbidly Obese, getting life insurance is very difficult, even with a physical exam.