Im a Noob to WLS and I'm trying to decide the best way to go...here is my story.

dkorb01
on 2/26/15 3:57 am
DS on 05/22/15

My name is Denis, I'm 41.  I began my weight loss journey roughly 2 years ago.  I had been struggling for nearly 10 years with my weight but made the decision to do something about it in 2013.  I started seeing a Dr. Singh when I was 596 pounds.  I had made the decision to try to lose the weight naturally, and Dr. Singh prescribed a diet called the Advanced Health Systems Diet from Robard.  it was essentially Protein Shakes, Protein Meals, and Bars.  I was supposed to eat these things 5 times a day and have either a 1 pound steak, 3 chicken cutlets, or 3 pork loin chops w/salad for dinner, and I was to drink 4 -18oz bottles of water a day.  I included in this Tuna Salad on romaine lettuce.  for 2 months I was very successful on this path losing from 596 down to 554 pounds.  but then Dr. Singh got married and ran off to Hawaii with her new husband...there was no longer a Doctor in my area that could provide these meals.  So my family and I noting the success had a discussion and figured Atkins wasn't that far off from what I had been eating so my wife, daughter and myself all started buying only the frozen meals and bars from Wal-Mart...and that's what we ate for about a month...during this time my daughter and I started going to the YMCA pool every other day where I would move in the water constantly for 45 minuets.  I enjoyed the exercise and felt I was doing well, until my entire family weighed ourselves and found that we had somehow gained weight using the Atkins meals...on closer inspection of their website...in small print we found where it stated not to eat more then 2 Atkins products a day as there were hidden alcohol sugars that are not declared in their nutritional blocks.