My BMI is 113.5

Lizlovesjim
on 6/23/15 5:46 am

Hello. I'm new to all of this. This is my first tie posting. I'm looking to get help and advice. I have just started the gastric Alec's surgery plan with the Cleveland clinic. I have never dieted before and have no idea how to exercise at my size. I weigh 623. Does anyone have any advice or is anyone around my size ? 

bulldog76ss
on 6/23/15 9:29 am - OH

When I started out my BMI was 84.  Not as big as you but I am sure I had the same issues.....I was dying.  The nutritionist my doctor had was remarkable.  I thought I know what was good and what was not.  I began there.  I also could only walk 50 feet or so with out feeling I was going to pass out.  So I would walk 30 feet and do it 3 to four times per day trying to increase it each day.  Set in my comfy chair and used 8 pound hand weights doing curls, anything to move more each day.  Slowly, painfully I began to improve in both strength and weight loss.  Don't get me wrong, I had some set backs but my family supported me and my grand kids were worth living for.  From June 2013 to Qct 2013 I lost 50 pounds on my own.  I had the RNY on Oct 11th 2013.  I fell the first week after surgery and the paramedics had to lift me off the ground cause I couldn't get up.  Through all of this I improved.  I am now the weight I was when I was 18 years old (1974), riding a bike again and playing baseball with my grand kids.  It seems like it would take forever but in 1 and a half years I am a new man.....all drugs are gone especially diabetes.  I hope the best for you along this journey and stay strong!

Lizlovesjim
on 6/23/15 10:47 am

Thank you so much. Your story gives me hope. I do feel like I'm dying. I'm so close. You see the people on my 600lb life that dye and I don't want to be like that. I can't even believe I've sunk this far. Baby steps. I hope you continue to do well :) 

(deactivated member)
on 6/23/15 11:55 am
RNY on 05/04/15