Quilting Anyone?

debilc
on 10/19/08 2:34 pm - Oak Harbor, WA
I justi love to quilt.  Keepmy mind off eating.  I live at the quilt shop.  Just wondering.  Debi
A bad day Quilting is better than a good day at work. 
Besides Quilting has no calories no fat no icky taste. 
Start Weight 207 SW 172 CW140 GW 115

Leah P.
on 10/29/08 1:13 am - Indianapolis, IN
I have a machine just sitting here that my Husband bought me.  I am brand new to sewing and quilting.  I don't know where to begin.  My machine is a Bernina.  There is a local shop here that has classes and lessons.  That is where I got my machine.  I feel stupid since I am such a beginner.
Are there any books that you would recommend for a beginner?
lindavip
on 1/29/09 1:51 am - Moreno Valley, CA
Hey!  I am a quilter for the last 35 years.  All self taught and I love to HAND quilt. Although, I wish I could afford a professional quilting machine.  Leah, I would LOVE to own a Bernina!
Linda
JoleneH
on 2/5/09 3:37 am - AZ
I'm a newbie too...to both the quilting and the sewing machine...it's quite intimidating.  I have one mini quilt that I am almost done with and I have started the top to another.  Sunday I go hang out with some of my husband's cousins and they are going to show me how do bind the mini quilt. 

Applique looks like fun.  I wanna try that in the near future!
granny52
on 3/24/09 8:12 am - Arcadia, WI
I have been quilting for about 30 years now, and have been teacing it also, I would say a book by Elenor Burns would be about the best as she really goes into detail on how to do something. Right now  I am doing a type of quilting called the otton theory, which is quilting each block first then putting it together, that way you sre not having to fight with a big quilt. 
                                                                                                                                            Sue
debilc
on 6/18/09 2:14 pm - Oak Harbor, WA