new to this forum but not this site...going BALD!!!!!!

marty69
on 11/14/12 2:06 am - MO
RNY on 06/06/12

Hi enlightened...  am a 43 year old female. I hade rny on june 6th and have my  type 2 diabetes. I was borderline before surgury (like 10 points away ) so my gp started me on metphormine(sp?). Senc surgury my nut has been after me to up mu carbs(wich for me is deadly on 2 counts . 1= I am a carb addict.  and 2= it sends my sugars thru the roof.)

Now on top off this my HAIR is falling out by the  HANDFULS!!!(literally). It is worst ont the top and front of my head. I have long hair, so I've been wearing it up in a bun for about 2 to 3 months now. but the front is gotten so bad I dont think that will be an option for more than another wk maybe 2. I have been playing it off till today...... but folks my hair has always been my 1 beauti and now it going,going, an almost gone...

A friend says its cause of the diabetes... I know part of it is cause of anastesia. ( I have been put under 3 times sence april of this year.) but the amount I have lost is truly CRAZY.

Do any of you have advice, encouragement ????  My protein intake is low I am still working on getting the 60 to 80 the tell me I need. ( I am a heavy weight and had bleeding comps.) Any thing is welcome and VERY BADLY NEEDED.

Thanks wls, rny, and diabetes friends...........

May We All be Blessed and Valued 

marty

funkyphillygirl
on 11/14/12 5:21 am

Marty - Sorry to hear this.  I have heard and read that it is NOT UNCOMMON for those post surgery to have mild to significant hair loss 3-6 months after WLS.  I have NEVER seen anything that links this to diabetes.  It's actually been linked to two things - not enough protein and the stress on the body of surgery.  I am surprised that your team did not prepare you for it or talk with you about how to address it.  How are you doing with your vitamins and supplements?