Possible denial for lack of pre-op weight loss?

stormechaser
on 3/14/17 9:37 am
DS on 06/08/17

I'm very close to the end of my insurance requirements. I have United Healthcare backed by Medicaid in Ohio.

I have been gaining and losing the same 10 lbs for a few years. I'm seeing the nutritionist and she said that I may get denied because I haven't really lost anything.

Any thoughts on this?

PattyL
on 3/14/17 10:16 am

You appeal. And appeal. And appeal.

After all, why do you want to do this? Because you can't lose weight. Point proved!

stormechaser
on 3/14/17 10:52 am
DS on 06/08/17

Thank you. She was just kinda crappy about it. I've been on the revision journey, officially, since May of last year. I'm so ready to move on to post op.

VSG TO DS Revision on June 8, 2017.

Surgeon: Dr. Philip Schauer at Cleveland Clinic
Current Weight: 280 lbs

Regained to: 312lbs
Lowest after VSG: 249lbs
Highest Weight ever: 330lbs

PattyL
on 3/14/17 12:41 pm

Just don't give up. That's what they WANT you to do!

PeteA
on 3/14/17 1:05 pm - Parma, OH
DS on 04/15/13

For me they just wanted to see the effort documented by my physician. The actual weight loss seemed to not be the point. I wouldn't worry. Hopefully it will be like mine was.

stormechaser
on 3/15/17 7:56 am
DS on 06/08/17

Hey Pete!

I am hoping they will see the struggle. Btw, I will be having the DS with Dr. Schauer. I've seen him once so far and he signed off on me already. I really like him. He answered all of my questions thoroughly. He pointed me to resources about wls and psoriasis-a huge problem of mine.

I questioned him and the staff on the fact that he isn't listed as a vetted DS surgeon, and I was impressed with their answers-and, frankly, their lack of attitude when I mentioned my concern.

PeteA
on 3/15/17 8:45 am - Parma, OH
DS on 04/15/13