Iron low

David M.
on 5/17/17 1:44 pm - Germantown, OH

Hello friends,

checking in to see what recommendations are out there for iron supplements. Iron is low at 7 as well as ferritin was low.

My other labs are good. Started taking the 200k daily of vitamin D, levels increased from 17 to 54.

I am new with my pcp, he seems good but very conservative and like so many other pcp's, just doesn't seem to get the malabsorption and DS procedure.

He just advised to make sure I am taking my iron supplement daily. "Now" brand 18.8mg daily ( with vitamin C) is what I have been using. Out of all my supplements, iron is the one I seem to miss the most, because of trying to time it with the others.

I feel like death warmed over, so I am researching my options.

What are you taking? Have you had to have transfusions? I am very open to getting a transfusion to help get it regulated quicker.

10 years out ! Started at 379 pounds and holding around 175-180

LIFE IS GOOD !!!

David M.
Beam me up Scottie
on 5/17/17 7:49 pm
I switched to Heme iron from Colorado labs. It's the one Vitalady recommended if you are having difficulties getting your iron in. It can be taken with food and doesn't have to be separated from calcium quite as long.

You probably need an infusion though to get your levels back up.

Scott
Janet P.
on 5/18/17 11:51 am

David, I have battled iron deficiency anemia for years (I had my DS 14 years ago). Many DSers don't absorb oral iron (I don't). I tried many and nothing helped. The oral iron can also tank your calcium so separate them by about 2 hours.

Iron infusions (not transfusions) are what works. Find a good hematologist who understands malabsorption. I was fortunate to find one. Once you explain your situation you should be able to get iron infusions. Most doctors either have their own infusion clinics (because most hematologists are also oncologists or will send you to a local hospital for their infusion clinic.