Edible Marijuana: Old Timer Question

Stacie_S55
on 6/30/18 6:26 pm

I'm not technically a new member, but I'm such an old member that I can't remember my old name and password. :) My old name was just "Stacie S." I had my DS in December 2006 in Brazil with Dr. Marchesini. I've maintained a loss of about 140-160 pounds for almost 12 years. I never got down below 220, but from almost 400 and 5'9", it's a good deal better.

So here's my question (asking for a friend): On a recent trip to Washington state (recreational marijuana is legal there), a DS patient I know sampled two types of edibles, and they had absolutely NO effect on her. She also tried smoking, and the effect was much stronger. Does the altered DS anatomy keep marijuana from getting into the bloodstream through edibles? I searched Google, and didn't really find any information, so throwing this out there in case anyone knows.

Janet P.
on 7/1/18 2:57 am

Hi Stacie S. Congrats on maintaining your weight loss. Hopefully the rest of your health is good too (labs, etc.).

Speaking for a friend with the DS, she had a similar experience. Smoking felt the full effect. She recently tried edibles because she had a houseguest who brought along a small housewarming gift (from a legal state). It was a pack of gummy treats. The guest cut it into small pieces and felt the full effect, but my friend had minimal reaction to the gummy.

Janet in Leesburg
DS 2/25/03
Hazem Elariny

PattyL
on 7/5/18 10:20 am

I live in NV where it's legal. MJ has the same effect on us as it does anyone else. Smoking is always the instant 'hit'. But the edibles seem to be hit and miss for everyone. I LOVE indica for sleep and I prefer the edibles. They don't make me feel tired or high, I just sleep better. I know some people who do get high from edibles and a lot of people who do not! I am one who doesn't and I didn't before the DS either.

Raisty
on 7/26/18 5:26 am