How do you get up to exercise?

bbwvixen
on 5/1/14 10:34 am - Surrey, Canada

I'm a full time student, my mom just died, and I'm dealing with PTSD and chronic depression. My solution is to hide and sleep thru it, or eat my way thru it.

I can barely move some days, how do I get the motivation to exercise?

Hislady
on 5/2/14 6:32 am - Vancouver, WA

I'm so sorry that you are going thru such a difficult time, sometimes life is just plain hard! I hope you are getting treatment and medication for your depression and PTSD, they can be very helpful.

As for motivation if I had a really good answer I'd be a zillionaire! However what I do is get super organized about it and set a particular time to do it. I also get a notebook set up with what ever I'm doing, if I'm riding my stationary bike I keep track of minutes or miles. When I'm doing strength training I keep track of how many reps and sets I'm doing and how much weight I'm using. For me if I don't get very disciplined about it I just tend to find excuses not to do it. Remember that getting exercise also helps with the depression by releasing endorphins. I wish you the best and just remember one step at a time and you'll end up somewhere new and probably even better. Good luck to you!

swimcheryl
on 6/8/14 4:05 pm

bbwvixen, I am so sorry to hear everything you're going through. I too suffer have depression and PTSD. I initially wrote that I "suffered from depression and PTSD", but decided to change that wording because I am no longer suffering. 

The best advice I can give you is to literally take stock of your life, Pick yourself up by the bootstraps and get some help! This is your life and you DESERVE happiness.