Any treadmill WALKERS out there?

singdoremi
on 2/22/15 1:13 am - NJ

Good morning everyone. I am a 55 year old woman. It has been 1.5 years since my VSG. I have been an hour a day avid treadmill walker(in my basement)for over a year but the last few months I have been slacking off on my exercise and food plan. Put some weight back on, just a vicious cycle. I have tried to use the Couch 2 5K app several times, but I think I lack the stamina for running. Anyway, just curious if anyone else is a treadmill walker.

VSG 6/4/13
Ellen

(deactivated member)
on 2/24/15 2:45 am - GA

Hello and thanks for the question? Although I use to be a treadmill walker/runner I rarely use it now to get my cardio in. However, I am a personal trainer and train people who ride the treadmill frequently or I incorporate the treadmill into our workouts. You mentioned you have been an avid treadmill walker for over a year which is amazing, great job. In regards to your slacking could it be because its time to switch your workout and do something else. Its actually recommended you change your workout consistently (every month to 3 months) for several reasons.

1. Doing the same ole same ole gets boring and you usually just go thru the motions instead of having the same intensity and excitement you had when you first started.

2. Your body gets use to doing the same movement and doesn't response as quickly as it did in the beginning. Your body adapts to the program and since its no "shocking the body" the results come much slower.