Newbie to the "scene"

Johann1971
on 4/20/15 7:24 am - Johannesburg, South Africa
RNY on 04/15/15

Hello All,

I'm new to the WLS "scene" and would like to get in touch with members on here and share success stories and progress. A bit of background info: I'm a 43 year old male from Johannesburg, South Africa. I started my process on 11 February 2015 with my first consult and had my RNY gastric bypass last week 15 April 2015. My gallbladder was also removed. My starting weight on 11 Feb was 115kg (253.5 lbs). I managed to lose 13 kg (28.7 lbs) prior to surgery. My goal is to weigh in at around 70kg (154 lbs).

So far, I'm doing great! Thanks to a very good surgeon and entire team. No problems swallowing, keeping down food, very little (if any) pain and/or discomfort. So far so good!

Looking forward to meet and greet...

Regards

Johann

ohbearly
on 5/5/15 1:19 am - Mogadore, OH
Revision on 07/31/13

Johann,

Good luck on your journey. I am a long term post-op. I had Lapdand in 2008 and revisedto RNY in 2013 due to complications. I am doing good. It will be the best decision you have mead in your life. My most important pieces of advice are...

1. Listen to your surgeon and follow the directions 

2. Be active - changing your life to be more active makes all the difference after the honeymoon of weight loss from the WLS starts to fade.

3. Make changes in your life and set goals to achieve those changes. Most of us were overweight because we had bad habits . Now is the time to work on banishing them

Tom

Follow my journey to a happy, healthy, active life at TomBilcze.com 

Johann1971
on 5/5/15 4:34 am - Johannesburg, South Africa
RNY on 04/15/15

Hi Tom,

Thank you so much for your words of wisdom and encouragement. It means the world to me! Thank you.