IEHP/medi-cal help/ self pay options? So lost.

megan G.
on 9/10/14 2:05 pm
RNY on 01/05/16 with

Since I have been a full time student the last 10 months I'm on IEHP/medi-cal, my primary care suggested I go through the process to get surgery and referred me to a nutritionist. The nutritionist did the 6 month assisted weight loss program and submitted his notes to the insurance company and my primary care sent the referral to see the surgeon. I was denied, I called the insurance company to appeal it. I then called the person in charge of referrals at my doctors office and she told me that basically she has only seen a handful of patients get approved. I've recently graduated and I have a state board exam next week and my school is now working to get me working as soon as possible. So now I'm wondering if I should bother trying to fight with IEHP or find some way of paying for it myself? If so I'm lost at where to start since really the only thing on my credit is my student loans. Any advice/help appreciated. thanks.

hollykim
on 9/21/14 1:55 am - Nashville, TN
Revision on 03/18/15

why exactly were you denied?

megan G.
on 9/21/14 6:02 am
RNY on 01/05/16 with

They sent a letter stating I was denied because I do not have records showing I've been overweight the last 5 years. I called them and explained I have been living in Oregon the last 6 years and I could have records sent over since I have in fact been overweight for 12 years. The lady on the phone told me that would not work, my records would have to be from this state over a 5 year period.

Noragretz
on 9/23/14 5:37 am
VSG on 09/05/14