Gastric Surgery

Froggy17
on 7/27/14 10:34 pm - Bracebridge, Canada

Hi everyone,

This is my first time on this site. I just found out this morning about it. I am currently 135lbs overweight with sleep apnea condition, severe depression and few other things going on. My wife last night gave it to me quite black and white, I am morbidly obese and for the sake of our children, she wants me to look into gastric surgery. I tried for about 10 yrs now to loose weight. Hard cardio, weight lifting, biking, running, swimming. I am still gaining weight. It is just crazy. I am not sure if it is because of cipralex or not. I take 20mg a day. It has changed my mood and saved my life two years ago. Otherwise, I wouldn't be writing those words. Never ever in my life have I ask for help but I am lost now. I don't know where to start, what to do and where to look. I don't have insurance that will cover the cost and If I have to go to the back to save my life, I will. I am currently ready everything I can on all the type of surgery. Please, if you have a minute, let me know how yours went or any recommendation. 

Thank you for your time

Froggy17

Hislady
on 7/28/14 4:55 am - Vancouver, WA

I beg you to not even  consider the lap band as it is only good for about 10 years and then needs to come out. It is the least effective form of weight loss surgery and most people don't lose anywhere near the amount of weight they need to. There have been a few who have but I believe they were just ready to lose and would have done it with or with out the lap band.  I would urge you to research the VSG or DS both are very effective and don't require fills and unfills like the band does. The band causes serious damage to the stomach and much of it is not reversible. You should check under the forums for the Canada forum since we have different medical systems. Good luck to you!

Vivian Prouty
on 7/28/14 5:56 am - Fort Worth, TX