13 YEARS!

monymony
on 1/27/15 5:48 am

Hi everyone, Just wanted to celebrate my 13th Bandiversary. I am doing well and have no regrets about having it done. The band is an awesome tool when used correctly. I wish everyone the best of luck in their journey. Mona

Veteran Bandster 2002

Nothing tastes as good as thin feels!

Kate -True Brit
on 1/27/15 5:56 am - UK

Congratulations!  The band doesn't work for everyone and can do a lot more damage than we were promised, but for many of us, it is an excellent tool. Mine is still serving me well, although at 8 1/2 years I am a newbie compared to you!  

Good to see you back on OH.

Highest 290, Banded - 248   Lowest 139 (too thin!). Comfort zone 155-165.

Happily banded since May 2006.  Regain of 28lbs 2013-14.  ALL GONE!

But some has returned! Up to 175, argh! Off we go again,

nwnj
on 1/27/15 8:01 am - Newton, NJ

Hi Kate,

I too was "banded". My surgery date was 12/16/2009 and I've lost 120 lbs but have gained 10 lbs back, which I'm ok with. I've had no problems with my band either but it does appear that the band has lost it's popularity here in the US as well.  My WL support center has been honest about the band, telling me that many folks in Europe are having the band removed.  As best as I can understand, it's mainly because it's become a less successful type of WL surgery, hence I suppose that many people simply cannot manage to keep the weight off.  

I'm curious what you've been told, especially about what you mean when you said it "can do a lot more damage". What kind of damage?  I see my nutritionist and doctor once a year now, and they are quite happy with me and the fact that I have kept the weight off for five years.  

Cheers,

Margaret

Hislady
on 1/27/15 8:29 am - Vancouver, WA