Lap Band on 7/28/2015...Please!! I need some encouragement!!

Blossomdog
on 8/5/15 9:57 am

I had my lap band surgery about a week ago. All the posts about having lap band revision surgery are a bit scary. My Dr. never give me any indication that there were so many problems with the band.  I know there are people who had Gastris bypass then went on to do lap band like Carnie Wilson. Are there some positive results for people out there with the band? Reading through the forums it's making me wonder if I made a big mistake

Nic M
on 8/5/15 6:53 pm

Hi Blossomdog,

Okay, so you'll notice that I am NOT a proponent of the band at all due to the fact that I had a horrible banding experience, personally. However, you've made the choice, gone through surgery, and if you're feeling well right now, just go with it. Don't borrow trouble. 

Be aware of the complications that do arise, but don't be paralyzed with fear over them. Follow your doctor's orders, do your best to follow the band diet/lifestyle, and take care of yourself. If you experience pain, speak up, get checked, etc. Come and ask questions if you need to. There are lots of folks who have gone through it all and will be willing to help.

Wishing you the very best! 

~Nic

Avoid kemmerling, Green Bay, WI

Bette B.
on 8/6/15 3:48 pm

I posted to your main forum post, but I'll be give you a brief recap here: RELAX.

Banded 10 years & maintaining my weight loss!! Any questions, message me.

monymony
on 8/7/15 7:17 am

Hi Blossomdog, I know that there are complications with any surgery. I had my surgery 13 years ago. I did have a band slip in 2003. But I have had no complications since. Don't worry until you have to. Good luck. Mona

Veteran Bandster 2002

Nothing tastes as good as thin feels!

(deactivated member)
on 8/10/15 8:12 am - NY

8 years out, 90 pounds lost....NO PROBLEMS!  Relax and follow the band rules your doctor gave you.

Mell
on 8/10/15 10:28 am