Yoo Hoo... any MT's out there?

Angela B.
on 5/9/05 2:36 pm - Jones, OK
I'm a RN massage therapist... pre-op RNY. (Don't have exact date and time, but in two weeks I'll be on the downhill side!) I'm so delighted to be a MT, but hate the sweating I do as a fat person. Any MTs that have gone from heavy to lite have any words of encouragement or wisdom for me? Angela in Oklahoma
Larry B.
on 5/15/05 1:47 am - Fenton, MO
Hi Angela, Yes I'm a LMT in St. Louis Area. Have been for three years. My date is set for 6/10/05. I sweat like #$@^% when in session. If I run the fan I worry about client comfort. I can't wait to lose the weight. I do most of my work from a rolling stool. I also love being a MT. I retired for the TELCO after 33 years and started a new career. Hope All goes well for you. Larry Blunt
poohbillie
on 5/23/05 6:10 am - Anniston, AL
Hi, I'm also an MT, and agree about the sweating thing. I had surgery on 03/28/05, and have lost 50 lbs. I still sweat but it is nothing compared to 50 lbs ago. I love massage therapy. It relaxes me almost as much as it does my clients. I think going to school and having surgery were two of the best things I have ever done for myself. Good luck, Billie
Angela B.
on 5/26/05 9:18 pm - Jones, OK
Hi Billie! I'm post-op now. Anxious to know how my strength will return... Right now my belly is so bloated that I'd smother someone on the table if I stood at the head and worked on their abs! But, you seem to be working 8 weeks out. What kind of schedule did you use to work up to where you are now? I was up to 4 or 5 hours a day, one day a week. (Still doing my other job - Registered Nurse) I'm thinking at about week 3 I may start back with an hour long massage trade-out. Angela
Kim P.
on 6/13/05 6:55 am - Manville, NJ
Hi Angela, I was told I would be able to resume working at 2 weeks out. So I am scheduled a 2 week vacation on my planner and I intend to be back up and working 14 days later. My surgery is scheduled for June 21st. Kim