Just introducing myself

Andrea N.
on 10/11/05 4:25 am - Ashland, VA
My name is Andrea and I graduated this past May with a diploma in medical transcription from a local trade school. I managed to graduate with honors with a 3.69GPA while working and taking care of my 3 boys. My teacher has been teaching this course for 7 years and he told me that only 1 other person in the 7 years did as well as I did. He even wrote me a letter of recommendation but still I've had NO luck finding a job and I'm getting really frustrated. I tried to work for a lady who owned her own company but she lived better than 40 miles from my house and she wanted me to do all the driving (with a V8 truck and almost $3/gallon) and was only going to pay .06 a line. I did one tape and put more gas in the truck than I made. I have applied with a lot of the online companies but most are very discouraging saying they don't even want you to apply if you don't have anywhere between 1-5 years experience. Any ideas? Does anybody know any companies that would be willing to hire a newbie? I have found one called Transam http://www.transamassociates.com/application/ where they offer to train you and so much other stuff and you are required to buy your own software which of course is terribly expensive and I'm not really sure if they are a gimmick to make money or if they are a legit company. Anybody ever heard of them or actually worked for them? Thanks for the patience with all my questions. I hope everyone is having a wonderful day.
dellismt
on 4/17/06 3:00 pm - Theodore, AL
Scam company! Do not buy into that!!! Check out posts for them at MT Daily and MT Stars. They are bad news!
Patience
on 5/10/06 1:36 am - Lancaster, VA
Andrea, check the MedQuist website. They have newbie training programs. In fact, as an experience transcriptionist, they give most of the difficult to us and use the easier accounts to their newbies. Try an get on an E.R. account. P.
awesomesis6
on 2/10/07 2:36 am