Scheduled for RNY on Dec. 1

Zonechef
on 11/15/14 1:20 am
RNY on 12/03/14

Hello Guys,

I am fairly new here and scheduled for RNY on Dec. 1 (awaiting final insurance confirmation. I am 56yo. I am about 265 (295lbs 2 months ago. I lost 30lbs. in the past 2 month on the south beach diet) however losing weight has never been a problem for me, I seem to do well at it every 4 or 5 years but I always gain it back within 2-3 years. I guess I am going through many of the usual pre-surgery apprehensions. I currently have high blood pressure, high bad cholesterol and very low good cholesterol. I live alone with little family nearby so I am a bit concerned about taking care of myself post op. I only live 2 blocks from the Hospital where I am having my surgery. I am a chef as my handle imply s so my job is rather physically demanding so any advice on return to work time frame would be appreciated. Any and all tips on energy maintenance, hydration, protien intake, e.g. what worked for you ect. would be much appreciated as well as any other tips. Thanks in advance and really looking forward to this and moving toward a healthy life.

Qajohn
on 11/15/14 9:23 am - Woodbury, MN
RNY on 01/16/14

Welcome to the group. Its a pretty good bunch of guys. 

Regarding your recovery, we are all different. I had RnY surgery on January 16, and within a couple hours I was chomping at the bit to come home. I didn't need any extra pain meds and had zero problems. Again, YMMV. As @don1962 has said to others, be sure to keep sipping water and walk as much as you can tolerate. Make sure to follow your surgeons recomendations to the letter. 

Congratulations on taking this big step, and look forward to hearing from you in this forum. 

John 

Mike R.
on 11/16/14 6:34 am, edited 11/16/14 6:35 am - Warner Robins, GA