Strength Training - Barbells - giving it a try

ShrinkingJoe
on 8/16/17 3:39 pm, edited 8/16/17 3:39 pm

Has anyone here tried any form of strength training using barbells and traditional exercises like the dead lift, squat, bench press, and military press?

I'm seriously considering hiring a coach - through Starting Strength On Line Coaching (Mark Rippetoe's system). I am a total noob in terms of any type of weight lifting.

I'm wondering if anyone has dealt with the high-calorie and high-protein (like 200+ grams a day) demands that come at times with weight training.

I've recently beat back 30+ lbs of regain, and am once again at a reasonable weight. Now I'm tired of being a weakling, so this time I want to do something about it!

Qajohn
on 8/17/17 2:49 am - Woodbury, MN
RNY on 01/16/14

I'm a big fan of weightlifting. Just be sure your form is prefect. It's very easy to injure yourself with bad form. Getting some training up front is a good idea.

chevtow41
on 8/18/17 4:11 pm
DS on 11/11/14

I lift 6x a week. I don't really squat or deadlift due to herniated discs and destroyed knees but there are always other exercises to get stronger (trainer could help with this).

I did have the DS so I eat every 3hrs and loads of protein already, though after lifting I always mix up a protein drink + creatine within an hour.

Remember you will likely gain weight due to muscle added but your body composition will be much better and muscle burns more calories.

I didn't hire a coach/trainer because my sons are big weightlifters and helped me out.

Definitely a good feeling seeing muscular arms and legs :)

ShrinkingJoe
on 8/21/17 9:16 am

That is awesome! I'd love those results. I am such an upper-body weakass - I can't stand it anymore!

chevtow41
on 8/25/17 7:39 pm
DS on 11/11/14