Sleeve scheduled in December - How did you all verify?

Paiger66
on 11/13/15 5:52 am, edited 11/13/15 6:21 am

I am struggling with my decision. Baiatric surgery is not covered by my insurance. I know and have spoken with someone who had her surgery with Dr. Elias Ortiz and A Lighter Me. She had nothing but positive things to say. I scheduled my surgery and then started my research. 

I would like to be able to verify that Mi Doctor Hospital has whatever licenses might be required by Mexico. I know the hospital is not JCI accredited but what about Mexico CSG Accreditation (voluntary) or SiNaCEA . 

I have also checked into Dr. Elias Ortiz. One site states that he is accredited by the American College of surgeons, but when I search for him on the American College of Surgeons site; I can't find him. 

I am a planner and researcher by nature. I like to know every bit of information possible. The lack of information is worrisome. How did you all work past the unknowns?

Sherrie P.
on 11/17/15 6:02 pm
RNY on 02/06/13

We went with Dr. Gonzales - because I was able to find good info about Florence hospital (where he operates) and he has been doing the surgery laproscopically since 1996. 4000 procedures. Reviews said good English.  Just a leap of faith when all was said and done. The people we met in Tijuana that used Dr. Zalvasa were super happy too. He had a great support staff. Bariatric Pal.

Good luck - it is a hard decision for sure!

Revision Lapband to RNY 2-6-2013   HW: 286  Pre-Op Diet: 277  Surgery Day: 265  Goal: 155  CW: 155

Plastic surgery 8/28/2014: Brachioplasty, mastopexy, & abdominoplasty.

Plastic surgery 1/27/2015: Butt Lift

Sandra F.
on 11/19/15 7:13 am