Verifying Surgeons for Revision (Mexico)

BelleKreyol
on 6/23/16 7:54 am, edited 6/23/16 9:04 am
VSG on 08/04/16

Good morning everyone, 

I am an WLS vet.  I had Lap-Band surgery back in 2008.  I lost a significant amount of weight and was very successful, for a total of 83lbs, from my highest of 230 to 147lbs. I just had a baby (15 months), and my band slipped with moderate dilatation. I need to have my band removed. I am thinking of doing a gastric sleeve since restriction seems to work well for me. I am up to 194lbs, and am doing my best to not climb any higher, but know that can be difficult. 

I am writing to see if any of you have used Medical Tourism Corporation?  I am looking at either Tijuana or Cancun.  They are recommending Dr.Francisco Gonzalez at the Florence Hospital or Dr. Hector Perez Corzo at Victoria Hospital.  

I am looking for a combination of a great surgeon with experience doing lap-band revisions and reasonable costs.  I am looking to spend an estimated $5k on the surgery.  Travel costs will be separate.  I also want to be in the hospital and not a clinic.

I'd love to hear if you've had specific experience with this company and if you have someone else you'd recommend.

Thanks!

Belle

br2364
on 6/26/16 9:26 pm
RNY on 06/29/16

I do not know anything about revisions. But I would imagine that since you had the lap band that a revision wouldn't be as scary as revising from a sleeve to a switch or rny. So I would imagine nearly anyone that has experience doing sleeves and lap bands would be great. I am going to Dr. Fernando Garcia at Hospital Cer. He does all surgeries. I am going for the RNY. But I really think anyone that has exceptional experience in sleeves would be a good fit.

BelleKreyol
on 6/27/16 3:21 am
VSG on 08/04/16

Thanks so much for your reply.  This helps!

(deactivated member)
on 6/28/16 4:24 pm