Iron and multivitamins

MarieeHolland
on 3/4/15 8:53 am

How much iron should we get? I'm a woman, 10 years post op. I cant remember the correct amount. Also, I'm looking for a good multivitamin with iron. Any suggestions would be helpful.

poet_kelly
on 3/5/15 10:45 pm - OH

What surgery did you have?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

tonytonkin
on 3/10/15 11:43 am

How old are you post or pre menopausal?  above 200 Ferritin  level is good.  They are other factors.  Take OTC or prescribed Fe as recommended by your MD.  Not too much not too little.  Important for many things in addition to hemoglobin and red cell production to carry O2.

Ferritin the molecule that stores the Fe. For your bone marrow that makes the red blood cells. Liver Spleen involved...it get's complicated.

(deactivated member)
on 5/18/15 5:25 am