Yuck, can't stomach the protein drinks, what can I do?

alyssa9933
on 10/29/15 5:58 pm - LA

I am a newbie here, just registered and have so much to say and ask. I weigh 415 and am 5'6".

I'll start with a question about Protein drinks. I am scheduled for surgery on November 10, not long away and am shaking like a leaf with fear because of some underlying health issues and have told the surgery will be extra risky for me so I'm trying to concentrate on after the surgery. I want to do everything I can to stay healthy and not have too much hair loss but having tried almost every protein drink I could find I still haven't found one I can get down because of the taste. I am not a milk drinker to begin with. Is there a vitamin or pill type supplement for protein that we can substitute or any other suggestions of how I can maintain proper protein levels without getting ill. I would really appreciate any feed back anyone could give me.

Alyssa

KittysarusRex
on 10/30/15 8:53 am

Have you tried a variety? Some taste better than others, genuinely.

Unfortunately, there is no pill you can take, but there are protein bars and such that can help you and other forms of protein that aren't dairy based. It really depends on you though. I see a lot of people doing Premier Protein.

hollykim
on 11/3/15 9:56 am - Nashville, TN
Revision on 03/18/15
On October 30, 2015 at 3:53 PM Pacific Time, KittysarusRex wrote:

Have you tried a variety? Some taste better than others, genuinely.

Unfortunately, there is no pill you can take, but there are protein bars and such that can help you and other forms of protein that aren't dairy based. It really depends on you though. I see a lot of people doing Premier Protein.

actually, there are proton pills available. With only about 2 gems of protein per capsule, one would have to take about 100 a day to get what we need. Not really doable.

(deactivated member)
on 10/30/15 10:01 am - CA