breast reduction and ohip??

readerchick
on 4/3/10 6:09 am - Canada
Hello there

I was wondering if OHIP will cover breast reduction? I had my surgery and have been living outside Canada for almost three years and am moving back home in the spring. I still have about 40 pounds to lose.

My poor boobs are hanging pretty low. Are there steps I need to take once I get home to build my case?
Anyone have any luck with getting an arm lift. I am finding with all the extra skin in my underarms is making me crazy itchy all the time. 

thanks

Jaime :)

samtq
on 4/3/10 6:23 am - Ottawa, Canada
RNY on 10/02/09 with
 I'm no expert but it sounds to me like you have a case to have it covered.
“The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.” --John “the Penguin” Bingham 
There is no passion to be found playing small - in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living. ~ Nelson Mandela

HW: 247.5/SW: 228.5/CW:135/ My GW: 140/SGW: 151
calais71
on 4/3/10 7:05 am - St Catharines, Canada

hi Jaime

I just had a reduction last year, prior to surgery (who knows when that is lol)  Anyhow, I would find a family doctor if you don't have one now in Canada.  Then start the process and get a referal to a plastic surgeon.  It sounds like you would qualify being that you have itchy spots  all the time.  I know I had to wait 2yrs to see the plastic sureon for the referal appointment and another 2 yrs for the actual surgeon.  But it all depens on the surgeon you get refered to.

Also being that you have been out of country the last 3 yrs Ohip may have you wait 3 months prior to an referal appointment. Best check with your doctor.

Good Luck !

mandi2660
on 4/3/10 7:09 am - Canada
VSG on 06/10/09 with
The breast reductions seem to be hit and miss these days.  I had a reduction a couple years ago and got it approved due to rashes, sores under the breast as well as lower back pain.