The Road Travelled

tg2013
on 10/23/14 10:02 pm - Ottawa, Canada

Today is my one year anniversary of RNY Surgery!

Last year I came to a fork in the road of life. 

On one side there was a very smooth and easy journey . A road that seemed to go downhill. A road where I could  see the end. On the other side of me there was another road. A road that seemed to be going uphill at times. A road that was rough however I could not see the end of this road.  Did it flatten out? Was it all up hill? Where does it end? These are questions I asked myself. Do I want to keep travelling down a road that I have been travelling on for many, many years? A road that is easy and downhill, a road that I see the end of . It's an end that is so predictable.  An end that no person wants to reach. The end of this road is close for many. Do I want to pick this road and get to the end before I need to?

I didn't want the easy road any more  I chose to take the rough uphill road.  The road where I need to use all my wits and my stamina to walk. A road that goes on and on.

The road I travel has been rough and a lot of the time a steep up hill journey. Has the journey this past year been easy? The answer is simple for me. The answer has been no it's not been easy. I have had complications from the RNY surgery. I have had many trips to the hospital I have endured many tests . Four weeks ago I have had a second surgery to correct some of the issues.  Has the second surgery successful?  No it hasn't . I still have some of the same issues on going. 

Do I experienced pain? Yes!

Do I sometimes feel down? Yes!   

The question I get all the time is ... Knowing then what you know now would you do it again? and Why would you put yourself through it?

The answer....

Yes I would.  I believe the road I chose will eventually smooth out and become easier to walk on.

And  ... I still cannot see the end of this road

msmuggins
on 10/23/14 10:16 pm - Canada
RNY on 01/05/15